.

OPINION: A 'Yes' Vote is a Vote for Our Children's and Community's future.

Rejecting the May 8 high school unification millage will cause one high school to be split in two old buildings that are both in dire need of costly repairs.

 

It's time for the residents of the Bloomfield Hills school district to come together and vote yes for a high school that will meet our children's needs for the 21st century.

The decision has been made to close the current Andover and Lahser high schools and make one Bloomfield Hills High School in the fall of 2013. By unifying the schools, the district will be saving $2.4 million annually. However, the current 50 year old edifice at Andover cannot accommodate the incoming students and needs a lot of renovation. Our children deserve a newly modernized school equipped with the technology needs of today comparable to schools in our neighboring districts.

Voting down this very reasonable plan will cause one high school to be split
in two old buildings that are both in dire need of costly repairs. A vote yes
is a vote for our children and our community's future. Please join me in
voting yes on May 8!

Margo Lazar,

West Bloomfield

The viewpoints in this letter are those of the writer, and Patch is not responsible for any ideas portrayed as facts. For questions and clarifications, please leave a comment below or contact editor Art Aisner at Art.Aisner@patch.com. 

About this column: Sound off on your favorite causes and complaints. Tell your neighbors about something they may not have considered before. Letters to the Editor might be edited for grammar, style, brevity and obvious factual accuracy. (We can't check every fact asserted, but if we realize something isn't true, we'll edit it or possibly not run the letter). Please keep submissions to about 300 words or less. Guest columns, for longer pieces that would be featured separately, are also welcome. Submit letters or questions to Bloomfield Patch Editor Art Aisner at Art.Aisner@patch.com.

Chris April 01, 2012 at 01:43 PM
Accusations that my motive is tax related is completely erroneous. It is a legitimate concern for many voters, and I will try help them understand that the district and onebloomfieldunited is misleading them to believe their taxes will go down. The message is misleading because it assumes that there will be no tax increases in the future. The premise is false because the district cannot survive without sinking funds forever. Even a brand new high school will require sinking funds shortly after it is built. Do the "taxes will go down" people also believe that in the next 26 years we won't need to significantly upgrade elementary and middle schools? This seems far fetched to me. This also will require new taxes. All that aside, I truly believe that maintaining both high schools is best for student achievement. Even if it means embracing the 9th grade academy concept. Finally, I also believe that with funds on hand Lahser and Andover can be field and improved to a condition we can all be proud.
Chris April 01, 2012 at 01:50 PM
Both schools you site have very challenging admission requirements. Apples and oranges.
Alexandrea Franklin April 01, 2012 at 06:00 PM
Chris, Once again you are mistaken. Thomas Jefferson and IA are two "apples" as you would say. They both have the same admission requirements, and your (incorrect) hypothesis that small is better would imply that IA should be number one. The point is, your position is hopelessly flawed. There are small schools scattered across all 50 states that are failing their students and their community. Small schools are not some mystical panacea. If they were, why wouldn't the Federal and/or State governments mandate that all schools be "small" and have no more than 900 students in them? It is small class sizes, small learning environments (cadres of 100- to -150 students), coupled with strong teacher/student engagement, and parental support/involvement that make the difference. We know how to run quality schools here in BHSD (IA being a great example). Don't sweat it if there are 1800 students in the building. Be grateful that quality instructional opportunities will be spared through building consolidation. It is about the students.....right Chris? If not, what is your agenda? Is this still about opposing anything that comes out of the BHSD Administration just because made the difficult decision to close the elementary school next to you, rather than the one next to your neighbors? Are there other frivolous lawsuits in the works that will waste even more student funding? What is your agenda, and what on earth do you have against this community and our children?
Chris April 01, 2012 at 06:17 PM
Alex, Since Pine Lake School closed, my quality of life has improved significantly. I believe closing the school was simply a poor decision for our community. I continue to be perplexed by their motivation for closing the school when they knew there was a deed restriction and because they knew the facility and grounds were superior to the Lone Pine alternative they chose. This decision did cause me to realize how much power the board has to make good and bad decisions, so I became active in learning about and participating in board related activities. My current opinion on the bond proposal has nothing whatsoever to do with the Pine Lake School decision, it is solely based on my understanding of the facts and the current High School alternatives.
Chris April 01, 2012 at 06:24 PM
Alex, Point is both IA and Jefferson have very challenging admissions requirements. Size may not matter when you are comparing schools with demanding admission requirements. Here are the requirements from the Jefferson website: Students are selected for TJHSST through a competitive admissions process. We are looking for highly motivated students with diverse backgrounds, talents, and skills, who demonstrate: High ability, aptitude, and interest in math, science, and technology. Intellectual curiosity and self-motivation to pursue scientific research. A desire to be challenged with an extensive curriculum focused in math, science, and technology. The highest academic and personal integrity. An aspiration to become a member of a community of learners, explorers, mentors, and leaders. The capability to become citizens and leaders of the 21st century. The majority of students enter TJHSST in their freshman (9th grade) year, during the winter round of freshman admissions which, for the Class of 2016, will begin in October 2011. A second summer round of admissions for the Class of 2016 is available in June 2012 only for students who move to a participating school division after September 30, 2011. A limited number of students are admitted to the sophomore (10th grade) and junior (11th grade) classes each year as well. That process will take place in June 2012. TJHSST does not admit students to its senior (12th grade) class.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »